Two Weeks of the Waiting Game

Hi everyone,

Happy Super Bowl Weekend! It’s the big 50 for SuperBowl fans, and this year, it’s near me! In San Francisco, California !

As much as I would LOVE to participate in the events of the Super Bowl (sorry all my readers…not a big football fan), I’m actually at a cafe reviewing all things related to the endocrine system, central, and peripheral nervous systems. Go figure….midterm season is upon me.

It’s been about two weeks since I received an email from a school I applied to for PA studies, and I’m still in this phase of the “waiting game” to hear back of whether or not I’m going to be lucky in getting a spot to be interviewed. This waiting phase can be incredibly anxiety filled. The stresses of midterms does not help.

So, how do I go about dealing with the anxiety of wondering and pondering if I’ll get lucky to get an interview? Here are some tips that may help all my readers out there as they wait for interviews.

1. Brush up on current events related to physician assistants, health, policy, and overall issues in the region you are concentrated in. For instance, in my county within California, diabetes is a BIG deal, staying current on what is going on through the news (local newspapers) and what different organization’s are doing is crucial. Studying the basics of how the ACA affects the current scope of PAs is also important. Obviously, there will be an influx of new patients because of the ACA, how does that affect PAs, their scope of work, the current demand are all good things to investigate.

2. Stay away from PA Blogs. I know, blogs are in so many ways, the way to get information (especially insider information). I know that I’ve read blogs since college, and I’ve found some pretty useful tips. However, if you’re already anxious about interviews, whether or not you’ll get one, and everything else that may come from this waiting game, perhaps PA Blogs, especially articles on PA interviews are NOT helpful. Blogs pertaining to information about the scope of PAs now are not a bad thing to read. Interview blogs are not the best, especially when you’re waiting. HOWEVER, that’s not to say that you should avoid them altogether, if you are comfortable with going on these blogs, by all means, go for it. For me, I’ve been (with a lot of restraint) avoiding blogs related to the schools I’ve applied to and their interview process, because I have yet to get an invitation. Thus, there is no point for me.

3. Shopping. Girls…don’t go crazy, however, retail therapy can help a bit. There’s a purpose to why I’m saying shopping is important. If you don’t already have one already, shopping for a suit and separates as well as a leather portfolio and bag are important. Whether you get an interview or not, if you decide to go another round of applications, having these pieces are important. Not only that, but if you don’t have these for job interviews and job related events, I think what you’re getting here can be useful in more than just the interview phase of PA school. As I mentioned in a previous post, I still have a suit that I’ve purchased when I graduated from college still in my closet which I use for work events. So, retail therapy can relieve that anxiety; just don’t go crazy and spend thousands of dollars during this phase…you’ll have debt from PA school if you get in and graduate and unchecked/uncontrolled retail therapy is not going to help you in this area.

4. Brush up on some key important courses. While the programs I’ve applied to do not have a regency requirement. For my science courses, I know how grad school works, based on what my friends have told me. Once you start, you hit the ground running. So, I’m taking a few refresher courses for the soul basis of being prepared when I potentially start PA school. It can be an investment, especially when it comes to time. Trust me, as a full time public health professional, sometimes, studying after work  and during your lunch hours leads to a no life kinda life; however, this will help you later on when you do get into school. Trust me, it won’t go to waste.

5. Sharing your anxieties with those whom you’re closest to. Bottling up emotion is never the way to go. I remember when I had read a blog recently and found out when the first session/wave of interviews is taking place, and let me tell you, I totally freaked out. Granted, I did receive an email from the school 2 weeks ago, and 3 days after I received that email, was when I found out when this first wave will happen, so in all technicality, perhaps the school has yet to go through my entire application. While I debated internally of who I would share this anxiety with, let alone should I even do so, I decided to share with my younger sibling. It felt like a small weight was lifted off my shoulders! Though the anxiety is still there, I’m glad someone else knows so that I’m not going through it myself. (If sharing is not your thing, there are other ways to deal with anxiety, sometimes, a punching bag during kickboxing gym classes are helpful too)

6. Enjoying life in the present — You know, life is short. It really is, in a sobering way, but in a truthful way. To simply live in your anxiety over a phase to graduate school isn’t productive nor good for you. That’s not to say that I’m telling you my readers, “don’t worry, be happy.” Absolutely not! I’m not even a fan of that quote, so don’t even think I’m telling you that. Rather, there’s a lot to life. Super Bowl Sunday is tomorrow, hang out with friends and eat healthy; go see a movie (or watch Netflix if that’s your thing); take a hike at some local trails; soak in the snow by skiing or snowboarding with family or friends; eat out or in house with those you’re closest with; jam with friends (I personally love being part of a band and playing keys, so I found these moments not only therapeutic, but being with others, and playing music together is an awesome feeling and well received study break for myself). There’s so much life out there, that anxious thoughts will cause one to forget that there are a lot of things to do out there, things that are happening in the world that makes our anxiety about this phase in life miniscule compared to what’s going on out there in this great big world.

The anxiety of waiting for any type of invitation to be interviewed for PA programs are tough. Hey, I know, I’ve not only been there, but in the middle of it right now. It’s hard! Despite its difficulties, there is so much to do than succumb to my own (and your’s) anxiety. So…here’s to passing week two of the waiting game, and going back to studying about the endocrine, central, and peripheral nervous systems.

Oh midterms…how I do not heart you at all.

Leave a Reply

