Let’s go Team Work! Let’s go….

Hey guys!

These past couple of days…or I should say weeks have been extremely busy, so, it’s been a bit tough to find time to really blog about things. In short, finals for the class I’m taking is coming up. Then there’s the entrance exams. Last but not least…applications are about to start up, so, if you can’t tell, I’ve been pretty busy getting stuff together for that too. Oh, and of course, I have work…and life. Who’s not busy, right? I’ve actually created a Google Keep post it of different topics I do want to talk about. Interestingly enough, some of it has to do a lot about fashion and grad school, so stay tuned, because there is some of that coming up.

I read an article a few months back that came up on The Atlantic (Which is..weird, because honestly, I’m on the other side of the coast, so why would I read the Atlantic). Actually, it came up on my twitter feed, since I follow major news outlets. I’m a news junkie…what can I say. I like knowing what’s going on. Anyway, the title of the article was “Being a Go-Getter is No Fun” (URL: http://www.theatlantic.com/business/archive/2015/05/being-a-go-getter-is-no-fun/393863/)

It was an interesting article because the journalist describes how a go-getter is often times in a difficult situation. Firstly, a go-getter is what an employer wants. Even in my current job, if I have an idea that fits my current project or concentration of work, I’ll go and get the job done. I’ll literally run the idea by my boss and management, and when I get their blessing, I’ll go with it, updating them along the way. However, this is where this go-getter is going to runs into some issues. People start noticing. People then trust you more with assignments and projects. They rely on you to get not just the work you’re focusing on done, but other areas. Thus, you become, the over worked professional, who may drop the ball on something or perform not as great as before.

There’s a quote in the article that seems to express the sentiments of the go-getter. “Why should you do more work for the same reward, while your less capable coworker coasts along with lower expectations and work?”

Wow…can I just say, that this has been a sentiment that I’ve been feeling?

Don’t get me wrong, I think team work, when done right, offers major advantages. An example outside of the public health realm — the reality show: Project Runway. You’ve seen how some teams that work out well, create some awesome work. And then, you see the drama unfold as well, for the teams that don’t work well. I think the one that seemed to be on my mind is the most recent Project Runway All Stars season, where Kini and Sam were paired up and Kini had done a lot of the work. Who took credit? Watch it and find out! 😉

What I’m getting at, is that when team work is done in its most ideal way, there are many successes. Sky scrapers, smart phones, cars, policy, you name it, it won’t work without team work. Yet, then there’s those who do a lot of the work and who commitment, and later, see as they open their eyes, that somehow, the work got placed on them while others are coasting.

I feel like that at work sometimes. I’m sometimes partnered with a colleague who is more “senior” than I am. She’s older as well. However, it’s gotten to a point where empathize with her. It really is and I’m someone who can empathize with people. I’m a feeler, I’ll cry if you cry. Heck, I’ve cried on the most recent Pixar films. But, here’s the thing…I help you, and you blame me for something you can’t do. I help in the brainstorming sessions, and I form the partnership, while you sit back. You’re in charge, and I have to help train you on all aspects of the curriculum, on top of that, take care of the overview meeting and put the binders together for you.  And yet, as a colleague who is senior than me, I am getting more work and more projects than you.

It’s really frustrating. I love my job, and I think I have one of the most rewarding jobs in public health. I really do. However, the drama of the job (even though there is plenty of drama that comes with my job; politics, you know…there’s always drama. Turn on the news, and you’ll see the political drama that I work with) comes when credit is taken when credit is not due.

It’s sad…it really is. Technically, with 3 months of seniority (thus my quotations to “senior” above) and having had more experience than me is sitting back while others are working hard. What is mentioned in The Atlantic is so true, and it’s almost as if the go-getter, the one with the good qualities, the good worker, get’s the short end of the stick. The even sad thing about it? I’m not the only one this is happening to (and I’m not talking about this colleague of mine either). In other departments, professions, organizations, and groups, even grad school work groups…it’s happening. Aren’t the go-getters suppose to be rewarded rather than get more work while others slack of or are considered less capable?

How do we even find ways to give the less capable a chance to rise to the occasion? After all, they’re working, and perhaps $ isn’t the only motive to the job? I’m sure that my colleague loves her job, but it seems as if I have those doubts of whether or not that’s true, because of her performance at work, her lack of willingness to advance or even pick up her own slack, and most of all, her absence.

There’s a painful reality, that as much as team work has its awesomeness. It has it’s issues, and when there are go-getters who are good at their jobs (granted, I’m not good at my job. I have a good team of managers who are extremely efficient and extremely experienced) they get get worked. Literally. I wonder if in their minds, they utter the same phrase too — “Team work, really?”

Leave a Reply

