Summer base

Hey guys!

Happy Memorial Day for all of us in the US! I hope that most of us have the day off! Again, I really want to thank all the service men and women who have made the huge sacrifice to serve our country domestically and abroad. Many have sacrificed a lot, including their lives. There were many videos that personally impacted me this year including a new West Point graduate who was from Haiti, the service men who placed flags on each grave at Arlington National Cemetery, and the many messages about what Memorial Day is really about. I know that for me, it’s a personal reminder of those who have served in the armed forces. I know for me, personally, I’ve had family members that have served and colleagues/friends who are still active duty, so thank you guys for serving, sacrificing, and protection what this country stands for.

It’s been a while since I’ve done a beauty blog that’s based on beauty. I know that I’ve done a blog on what I bring with me when I travel, but when it comes to a true beauty blog, I think the last one that I’ve done is honestly a skin routine blog. I also know that I haven’t done a fashion blog either, and honestly, it’s been more so of a hit than a hit and miss as I practice taking photographs on these pictures. So, that’s why I haven’t really put up blogs on this. So for those of you who are looking forward to more fashion-y blogs, stay tuned. I’m practicing, and I really hope to put up a blog soon on summer work fashion for the work place.

With summer literally right around the corner, I had an interesting day today. While hosting some family members out of the country, I had on what I would say a normal routine make up. This routine is incredibly simple; it’s not overdone, it’s honestly makeup used to even out my skin tone and walk out the door. In all honesty, I even like leaving the house with simple moisturizer and sunscreen, and I’m out the door. However, my simple normal daily routine for make up includes

  1. Tinted Moisturizer (Laura Mercier in Bisque)
  2. Concealer (Maybelline’s Fit Me in Medium OR, Maybelline’s Instant Age Rewind in Medium)
  3. Tinted Brow Gel (Anastasia Beverly Hills in Expresso)
  4. Mascara (Clinique Lash Power Mascara OR Urban Decay Perversion)
  5. Eye Liner (Nars Eyeliner Stylo in Koala, Tarte’s gel eyeliner in dark brown or black, or Urban Decay 24/7 eye liner in Stag — travel version with Make up on the Run Palette not available in full form, or Nyx Gel Pencil Liner Tres Jolie Β in Pitch Black).

The last two I switch up — either I wear the liner or mascara or I wear both. Here and there, I’ll add a pop of eye shadow if I feel like it, but on normal days, mascara is just fine for me.

So, while at the mall, I had the intention of visiting the Shiseido to find the right shade for me. I have two main foundations that I’ve used by Shiseido, and I find that my skin tone don’t fit either (sadness, I know). So after settling on an O40 or I60, my sister made a comment that the foundation on my chin is too light.

My eyes did this O_O.

The last time this happened, I had a tinted moisturizer also by Laura Mercier that was I believe 3 shades lighter? It was a while ago and I definitely looked sickly. So…you can imagine what my response was when my sister said my color was off. Of course, I didn’t wear any bronzer so, we had a bit of a problem.

So, it was perfect, because I started researching summer bases that will fit my skin tone and condition. So, as a woman who likes simplistic make up. I do have a few bases….

Foundation collection

So I don’t own as much as some of the YouTubers do, but it’s a bit funny, when I saw my collection, I was a bit embarrassed because I actually find this to be a lot of bases for a simple girl like me. I use all of them for various occasions, but it’s just yeah…I think it’s a lot. The funny thing is that I’m also in the process of finding a liquid foundation, so, a 6th addition will be coming soon (Possibly November).

Here’s my bases list:

Powder Foundation:

  1. Tarte’s Powder Foundation (Fair Light Honey)
  2. Shiseido’s The Makeup Perfect Smoothing Compact Foundation (I20) –> Don’t use at all, I use it in the winter as a setting powder, but really, I don’t use it.

Cream Foundation:

  1. Shiseido’s Advanced Hydro Liquid Compact (I40)
  2. Shiseido’s Foundation Stick (O60) — Discontinued (Although still sold on the Sephora Website here in the US)

Tinted Moisturizer:

  1. Laura Mercier Oil Free Tinted Moisturizer (Bisque)
  2. Shiseido’s tinted moisturizer (Medium) –> This one I haven’t used in a while and forgot I had it….^_^'(Obviously I prefer the first one more)

I have an oily combination skin type, so for me, I like having bases that doesn’t feel like I have any make up on at all. I know this is a weird description, considering I’m talking about make up, but you guys get it right? You’re wearing make up, but it doesn’t feel like it’s caked on? Well, that’s me I like that, especially in the summer time. Now California’s Bay Area doesn’t get humid days often, but because where I work does more often than not, I like make up that won’t melt off, make me look like a grease ball, or essentially a hot mess by 5 or 6PM. So all the above, at least for me, are products that I own because they really make my skin look flawless while not feeling like I have make up on.

So, what’s a girl to do in the summer?

Primers, setting powders, and sprays aside, my go to for the summer is tinted moisturizers and my new found love after my interesting day today, is powdered foundation. I rarely use my powdered foundation because I tend to lean on my tinted moisturizer, but after the lighter shade of Laura Mercier and not wanting to spend money on another foundation/tinted moisturizer/bb cream (Unless there’s one out there that’s of a decent price — I haven’t touched a drug store foundation in a while, so….if there’s hope there — let me know my faithful readers/followers!), I decided to test out my powder foundation, Tarte’s Fairly Light Honey. I have to say, I remember WHY I bought this a year ago, also in the summer time, and it’s because, it feels amazing while providing just enough coverage to cover any redness or blemishes I wanted to hide. I want to definitely give this a go for a while since my tinted moisturizer is a shade too light for now.

What’s your summer base? How do you do your make up in the summer time (humid or not so humid days)? Looking forward to hearing from you!

2 thoughts on “Summer base

Leave a Reply

