Holy Grail: Shiseido products

While I’ve shared many products that I’ve used in past blogs, I thought I’d share some of my holy grail Shiseido products that I haven’t only used for a month/few weeks, but these are products that I’ve used for YEARS.

It’s funny to me that many vloggers/bloggers often talk about holy grail products, at least to me, because many have chosen products that are recently released. For instance, one person mentioned a product that came out a month ago, and she claimed it as a holy grail product. It was funny to me, because she’s used for a month. However, I will say that the product this vlogger mentioned is pretty good though, since I’ve sampled it myself. Still! It’s funny.

For those of you who follow my blog, I have several Shiseido products both in make up and skin care. I will have you know, as a teenager, I despised Shiseido, because whenever I went there with my mom, sister, and aunt (#familyaffair), I often got critical responses about my skin (I had acne, eczema, dried patches, uneven skin tone). I left the counter often feeling like a lost cause. In fact, it was the Shiseido counter that made me despise make up until my last two years of college, when I had to buy make up since I was a guest to my friend’s wedding. I think it was my first time wearing make up since my senior ball (think of Jr Prom, but Senior edition). It was all drug store, and let me tell you…at that time…drug store make up made me itch like no other. I’m surprised, I never got hives from them.

However, it’s funny how things come around. However, now, older, and skin a lot more calmer, I have to say @Shiseido — THUMBS UP to you!

Today, I’m going to talk about the two most long lasting products from Shiseido that I personally own and use. I wanted to talk about a skin care line, but I haven’t used it as long (it’s close, by a year or so to be honest).

The first product is an underrated brush. For those of you Shiseido fans out there, you all know what brush I’m talking about. It is the Shiseido Foundation Brush. I bought mine first at the Nordstrom Shiseido counter because it was on sale. The woman at the counter raved about it, so I bought it. It is one of the BEST foundation brushes I own. This little guy is an angled buffing brush that can be used for ALL foundation. Whether a cream, liquid, or powder foundation, this little guy works. The picture at the bottom is my FIRST Shiseido foundation brush. I love it so much, I’m on my 2nd one. The original purchase that I made is now for traveling (that’s how well it works). I bought this brush 4 years ago. I have two on reserve, because in Japan, it was significantly cheaper, so, I hauled it back to the US. 🙂 That’s how good this brush is. I’ve tried this with Tarte’s Amazonian clay full coverage airbrush foundation (I have the Tarte AirKabuki brush too specifically just for this powder foundation), and it gives me such a flawless foundation. I’ve also used this with Laura Mercier’s tinted moisturizer. Same finish. Flawless. You can find this brush at multiple locations including Shiseido’s own website. Macy’s, Nordstrom, and Sephora sell Shiseido products. I believe right now, Nordstrom has a sale for some Shiseido products, so feel free to check them out. The original price for this brush is $30.

Shiseido Foundation Brush

 

The 2nd Shiseido product that I’ve used for years that I love and don’t think I’d ever switch, is the Shiseido Urban Environment Oil Free UV Protector. It has a an SPF of 42 and it is specifically for the face. It’s water resistent for 40 minutes. I have 2 bottles of this (one because it’s almost out — in my travel bag) and the 2nd sits on my desk. I have a 3rd unopened one on reserve. Again, like the foundation brush — I love this product. I put it on first thing in the morning and it’s literally waterproof. For those who have dry skin, it’ll work for you as well. In the winter, my skin is quite dry, like I need moisturizer dry, and it works fine on my skin. In the summer when my face looks like a greaseball by noon, I don’t have to worry so much about this giving me an oily face. In fact, I find that what sometimes gives me an oily face is my Shiseido primer (love by the way). The first time I used this product was about 5 years ago, maybe even earlier than that, I’ve used it for so long, it’s hard to remember to be honest, but I haven’t stopped repurchasing this product. It retails for $32 and I honestly think, again, it’s an underrated product, because it’s so good. I check what reviewers have said, and I’m often surprised that there are loves on Sephora, but not many people really for this.

Shiseido Urban Environment Sunscreen

I know recently, Shiseido has been on Social media lately, especially with the launch of their new Synchro Skin foundation (I’m testing it out right now). I have to say…this may be the one that may actually change my foundation purchase later on this year from the Hourglass Immaculate Foundation to Shiseido. Again, I’m testing it out with a sampler, but it’s promisng. I’ve only tested it out on my hand, and I have to say, it’s a longlasting oil free foundation. I haven’t done an 8 hour work day test, but I am looking forward to it.

Anyways, my two holy grail Shiseido products in a nutshell. Let me know if you guys want me to share my other holy grail products. I have a few items that I’ve been using that I’ve had for a while (Tarte’s powder foundation is one of them), Bare Minerals is also something I own (Although, FYI, Bare Minerals is a Shiseido subsidiary, so, Shiseido owns Bare Minerals). I have a few drug store products as well (mainly mascaras and lip products).

The hardest thing about holy grails these days is that a lot of products get discontinued, and those are the most difficult for me. I heard that my favorite Shiseido powder compact is being discontinued, and that product, I’ve used for about 8 years now. I just switched to a new powder compact, to we’ll see how this one holds up. So I was sad when I found out this week that the Sheer Matifying Compact is being discontinued (@Shiseido is this true?!?!?!?!), because I literally have used this for years. I was tempted to buy some for reserves, but, I bought another one to see how it holds up as a comparison test…>_<.

Anyways, let me know what you think!

UPDATE: In the midst of studying, I forgot my longest wearing Shiseido product!!!  can’t believe I forgot about this. I was studying and noticed some blackhead craziness, so I went straight for my mask. It is the Shiseido The Skincare purifying mask. I’ve used this since my college days which is about 13 years ago! Now interestingly enough, you cannot find this at your local Sephora. In fact, the only place that sells this one is Nordstrom for $30. There is a new Shiseido Purifying Mask that is the same price at Macy’s and Nordstrom, and I believe it’s a re-packaging, but I’m not too sure. I’d have to look at the ingredients, instructions, and even try it out to confirm. However, since it’s still at Nordstroms, the link is below. I’ve used this for so long, that I’ve forgotten all about it!  I use this maybe about once a month, since I cleanse my face regularly with two other products (drugstore cleansers), but this little guy here, used forever. Awesome product that makes my face feel clean, smooth, and gets rid of all my blackhead craziness, which I have now, while studying anatomy. 

Product Image
Shiseido The Skincare purifying mask
Leave a Reply

