5 on 5 Simple Work Make Up

I’ve always been one to like simple natural make up. I barely started venturing into the red lip, so if that doesn’t tell you the kind of make up I’m into, then I don’t know what does.

Being the non-morning person that I am, where a cup of coffee is needed to be nice to the first person I talk to, if I’m able to do a decent simple make up routine, I feel like the day is already going to start off right.

So, here’s a 5 on 5 Simple Make Up Tutorial that I do. It’s 5 products that I use that takes 5 minutes. I’m not sure yet if I want to turn this into a weekly series, but who knows…if you like, let me know!

Being a new blogger, I first want to say that I don’t have a before photo for you all to see. Lesson learned to actually do that. I do apologize guys!

IMG_1047
Thursday Work Day

 

This is me. I like this look on me, because it looks natural, and honestly, it looks like I don’t have make up on – except I do. I’ll be honest guys. I’ve gone to work without any make up on. I may do my brows, and maybe add a mascara. My biggest fear, is if I go to work without make up, I’d get comments of how I look sickly or I look different. I had an acquaintance, who wore foundation and some make up every single day. A few times, we’d meet up with friends, and the first thing my other friends would say is. ” So and so…are you ok? You look sick.” Needless to say, if I can skip it, I would. However, I like trying a simple natural make up, because I find that if I wear too much, I age myself. Secondly, I really don’t want people to say to me — You look sick.

Now I’m not going into details of how to put on the make up, since that wouldn’t take me 5 minutes. However, I did want to write up a bit of what I do use and how I put it on my face.

I didn’t add moisturizer, sunscreen, and primer into this list. This is purely all make up related products. I can list the products that I used at the end of this post so that you’ll know what I use.

First: Using my Shiseido Foundation Brush, I place a small pea sized amount of Laura Mercier’s Oil Free Tinted Moisturizer in Bisque. Surprisingly, I didn’t have any under eye dark circles despite getting only 4 hours of sleep, so I didn’t have the need to use concealer. Like in a previous post, I absolutely love my Shiseido Foundation Brush. I find that it really gives me a flawless finish and surprisingly doesn’t take up too much product.

IMG_1051
Laura Mercier Oil Free Tinted Moisturizer in Bisque

Next, I used the Shiseido Oil Free Bronzer in Light to add some warmth to my nose. Funny story – I actually was going to replace this bronzer for something a lot more darker so that I can use it as a contour shade. However, it was one of my more expensive purchases at the time, and I just couldn’t toss it. I tried it again, and I decided that it was a great color to warm up my face, and since then, I’ve been using it. Until I finish this bronzer, I think I’ll just wait on buying a bronzer. I am looking into the Too Faced Soleil Bronzer in Chocolate, but as of now, I’m satisfied with my Shiseido bronzer. Instead of doing a contoured look, I decided to use an angled powder brush to add bronzer in a 3 shaped format along my hairline. I start near the highest point of my ear and slowly blend some bronzer towards my cheek bone (a good landmark is the middle of my eye). I bring the bronzer in a downard motion towards my mouth but stop when I hit the middle of my eye. That way, I won’t look like a fish face. 😉

IMG_1057
Shiseido Bronzer in Light

Next, I use 2 items for my eyes and 1 for the lip. For my eyes, I use Clinique’s Long Wearing Formula Mascara Extension and for my brows (I guess I consider this part of the eye area), I’m using the Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Gel in Expresso. Both are my staples that I go to all the time, especially the Clinique mascara. My only critique about this mascara, is that when I take it off, it flakes all over the place. At least it happens when I take it off as opposed to during the day. For my lips, I’m honestly a lip balm kind of girl. However, I recently did a small haul on the Nyx website, and I’m now on the band wagon for liquid lipsticks. I purchased 3 colors of the Nyx Soft Matt Cream liquid lipsticks — Zurich, Cannes, and Sao Paolo. I love using both Zurich and Cannes as an everyday nude color. What I do, after some practice, is that I put some product on my lips, and this is a light touch. I normally put about 4 dots of the lipstick on my bottom and top lips. Then, using a clean finger, I’ll rub the lipstick onto my lips so that it looks almost like a stain or a light hand of lip liner. I realized that when I do a full swipe of liquid lipstick on top and the bottom lips, I tend to use a tissue to blot some of the lipstick off, which is a waste of product.

IMG_1049
Clinique Long Wearing Formula Mascara Extension; Nyx Soft Matte liquid lipsticks in Zurich, Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Gel in Expresso

So there you have it — 5 products in 5 minutes. Before the make up came on, I used Shiseido’s Urban Environment Sun Screen for my face and the Smashbox liquid primer. I wore my make up for 14 hours, and at the end of the day, while I did get slightly oily, it wasn’t bad.

Let me know if you like these kinds of blogs, and I’ll try and do some more with other products that I own. 🙂

Leave a Reply

