Make up and Public Health

Hey guys!

I don’t think I ever expected to one day write a blog post on the two things that I incredibly love — make up and public health. It’s two topics, especially when I first started this blog that I hesitated for a really long time to write about, because they were apples and oranges, two ends of a spectrum, completely and utterly different topics. Yet, I’ve now found a reason to write a post where it incorporates both subjects.

Before I go into my blog post, I hope everyone is having a good weekend. Happy Father’s Day to all the dads out there! I have a funny story to share with you all. So, I was actually going to do a 5-5 today, and one person asked me on my blog, to do a Naked on the Run summer look, and I was like sure! I’ll do a 5-5 with that. So…on Tuesday, I had this presentation that I was helping out with, and so while getting ready, I noticed that while I was putting on my base, that the lower left side from my nose to chin was stinging. Somehow, and I don’t know how…I scratched myself, from nose to the mid section of my left chin. The scratch is about 8 inches long. -_-….Anyway, I prepped my face, but, with open wounds like this, even if it’s a scratch, it’s better to leave it untouched with make up, so, anyway, I haven’t actually worn a base for about 5 days now, so that it will heal properly, get agitated/infected, or scar. So, I’ll just do a 5-5 next week (potentially mid-week or a post next weekend). Sorry folks…

Anyway, while I was thinking of what to blog about next, I came upon the Lancome Juicy Shakers that many people have been talking about on social media lately. I wanted to test it out, since $20 for a lip oil is expensive, and I find out through a YouTube vlogger, while studying, that it contains Almond Oil. If you can only picture for a second, me, studying with a giant Anatomy textbook, YouTube in the background listening in on whatever was going on in the make up world (Yes…I do this). I hear Almond Oil, Lancome Juicy Shakers, and I stopped studying, paused YouTube, went back about 30 seconds to watch what I heard to confirm, and literally thought: “Since when did almond oil enter the picture of makeup?”

After doing research on Sephora and Ulta on these little lippies, I’ve confirmed that this product has almond oil. Disappointed, I took this off of my Google Keep Make Up to Try list.

You see, I’ve been on the hunt for lip products lately, and I think it’s something I’m quite curious and interested in trying lately. I’m still all about the nude lip color, so I’ve been hunting around to see what I want to try. I then came across Bite Beauty’s Butter Lipsticks, which let me just say — Bite Beauty, thumbs up, because I have their lip pencil in peche, beautiful color! Their Butter Lipsticks also contains almond products. In fact, there have been a few products that have come out that I’m realizing has some type of tree nut product in them.

As someone who has food allergies, particularly tree nuts, I was blown away that tree nuts are now being used in make up products and are simply listed as an ingredient, but no warning label is given that tree nuts are in their products.

For those of us who have food allergies, it’s not uncommon, particularly severe cases, that we would ask waiters, managers, store owners, and restaurant staff if their food is made with specific products that could trigger an allergic reaction. In fact, we read food labels pretty well. What we women don’t do, is read make up ingredients looking natural products that can trigger a reaction. See where I’m going with this?

According to the CDC, here are some facts about food allergies:

  • Every 3 minutes, a food allergy reaction sends someone to the emergency department – that is more than 200,000 emergency department visits per year.
  • Teenagers and young adults with food allergies are at the highest risk of fatal food-induced anaphylaxis.
  • Eight foods account for 90 percent of all reactions: milk, eggs, peanuts, tree nuts, soy, wheat, fish and shellfish. Even trace amounts of a food allergen can cause a reaction.
  • More than 17 million Europeans have a food allergy, and hospital admissions for severe reactions in children have risen seven-fold over the past decade, according to the European Academy of Allergy and Clinical Immunology (EAACI).

If you’ve ever been to Ulta or Sephora, you’ll notice (you’ll definitely see me) man women go around to test out makeup. You’ll definitely see younger teenagers in high school or college doing the same thing. Knowing now, that different lip products have almond oil, extract, or the nut itself, it’s a concern because someone can get an allergic reaction or an anaphalactic shock.

I don’t know how many people have wondered what will happen or if this is even on any make up company’s radar. I know for me, someone who is allergic to tree nuts, I’m now going to have to read ingredients on make up products because of this.

So, for public health, a call to action for make up companies — Lancome, Bite Beauty, Glossier (their new Haloscopes all have almond oil in them), and other companies to put a warning label there.

There are always going to be people who are allergic to various products in make up. It can be chemical or natural products. However, given that tree nuts is a food that many are allergic to, not just in the US, but worldwide, I’m asking that a warning label be placed on the products and even an advertisement at local beauty stores, that a product has tree nut products there. Otherwise, who knows…one of these days, something can happen.

Leave a Reply

