Monday Blues: 5-5 Work Make Up

We all have our not so awesome days. In fact, we down right have our bad days. Let’s be honest about that. Today, I had a not so great day at work & I also had a not so great makeup day either.

I contemplated posting today, only because my face isn’t “flawless” with makeup. Nor was it done in a sense that made me look externally “beautiful” either. Yet, I realized when I thought about not posting, that I ought to post, because the reality is — each individual has their off days, myself included. So I wanted to post what my 5-5 make up day is like because we all have them. My Monday Blues…

First off, I want to say that it doesn’t look that bad ok. It really doesn’t look bad. It looks half decent and good enough for a no meeting kind of a work day. Did I wish I would have done certain things differently? Yeah. I wished I bronzed my face better. Wore some contacts maybe…perhaps more blush…I even thought to myself, how do those Vloggers get such great instragrams? Then…I realized, just like TV…it’s packed on! So, my typical normal work day makeup doesn’t look like this (i.e. I think I was tired, and it wasn’t done like I ought to have done my make up). But hey…I’m a normal girl who does normal make up. I will try to do another 5-5 this week, and I hope that as the week progresses, I can do one that’s worthy of a 5-5 make up look.

So, what is my 5-5 Make up Series? It’s where I use 5 products to do a make up look in 5 minutes. Let’s face it, unless I have a special occasion, my philosophy on make up is this — it’s to help  accentuate your looks; not something caked on to make you look like a whole new person. If you want personality with your make up, go for it! However, my looks are all about the “No Make up” make up look for the every day work day.

So, here’s what I used for my 5-5 look for today. Again, I will do it again this week, because I didn’t like it when I took this selfie, so, what’s a girl to do but to try again right?

Ok, onward —

File_000

Products used:

  1. Shiseido’s Synchro Skin Foundation (Rose 3)
  2. Urban Decay’s Perversion Mascara (Small size; from Naked on the Run Palette)
  3. Urban Decay Bronzer (Also Naked on the Run Palette)
  4. Urban Decay Blush (Naked on the Run)
  5. Urban Decay Highlight (Naked on the Run)
  6. Anastasia Beverly Hills Tinted Brow Gel in Expresso

So, I first have to say that I love these products that I used. What I did do however, and I probably should have thought of this, was that I used only 2 brushes. My Shiseido foundation brush and a standard blush brush. Now that I think about it after a long 8 hour work day, is that I probably should have used a different blush brush because the one I used was quite dense. Of course besides pigmentation issues, there’s the possibility that I also blended the colors in given that I used one brush for bronzer, blush, and highlighter. My personal note to self — Try using an extra brush or a less denser powder brush.

Despite the not so great make up look today, I do love the feel of the Shiseido Synchro Skin on my face. I’ve primed my face with the Body Shop WonderBlur over my pores and after all my make up, I did set it with Urban Decay’s All Nighter Spray because where I am (Northern Bay Area), it was set to be over 90 degrees Fahrenheit so translucent powder just wouldn’t cut it today.

Now…not only did I have a bad make up day, I didn’t have the greatest work day either. In fact, I’ll be honest, I haven’t had many great work days lately. A lot of it has to do with my own work ethics compared to others. It’s hard to work diligently and at full capacity when you see others who do their work with other priorities getting in the way, many of it personal. It’s one of those things that gets to me a lot of times, and it’s weird when they say they love their work but complain about it or decide that their personal lives seem to conflict with work. So these days, it’s been a bit difficult to concentrate on work that I’m doing.

Anyhow, I’m glad Monday is almost over, hoping for a better Tuesday. 🙂

See you all next time!

Leave a Reply

