Review: Shiseido’s Synchro Skin Foundation

Happy Sunday!

So, I had been looking at some of my most recent posts and realized that I’ve neglected to post my review of what’s been out for a while now, but hasn’t gotten much hype unlike many other more recently launched foundations. That’s right, it’s my long awaited review of Shiseido’s Synchro Skin Foundation.

For those who have been following me, you know that I’m in love with Tarte’s Amazonian Full Coverage Airbrush Foundation (powder), and while I don’t do a full coverage with this foundation, I do get a very good amount of coverage with a light layer.

Besides this, I do own Laura Mercier’s Tinted Moisturizer, Shiseido’s Advanced Hydro Liquid foundation (cream) and their stick foundation. So technically speaking, the Shiseido Synchro Skin would be a new liquid foundation that I’ve purchased in over half a decade. That’s right, you’ve heard me.

IMG_1259 (2)

So why did I purchase this $45 foundation? I was honestly on the hunt for one. As many of you know, I had been eyeing the Hourglass Immaculate Foundation, since I’ve tested it and love the feel of this on my skin, especially in the summer time. However, after finding out about this foundation through a few YouTube vloggers, I decided to test this out and fell in love with how this felt on my skin.

So, a bit of background (Source: Shiseido website; Shiseido Synchro Skin Foundation). The claims are:

A smart, oil-free, long-lasting foundation that beautifully enhances your complexion. Maintains skin’s clarity while preventing shine, creasing and fading all day long. Flawlessly undetectable like it belongs to your skin, this innovative formula with medium, buildable coverage and a modern matte, natural finish feels uniquely airy and silky on skin.
Formulated with Advanced Sensing Technology that creates a dynamic synchronization with your skin’s condition for a beautiful look.
Broad Spectrum SPF 20.
Mother of Thyme Extract helps prevent skin damage caused by oxidation.
St. John’s Wort Extract helps prevent skin roughness.
To use: Shake before use. Apply after skincare, smoothing on evenly from the center of the face outward and build to your desired coverage with additional layers.

There are 12 shades total, which is incredibly nice compared to many of their other bases. At the time, when I wasn’t as tanned as I am now, I was color matched to a Rose 3, which is pretty good. I can go for a Rose 4, but a Rose 3 is nice on me because I can bronze up my face a bit more to match my natural color. The cool thing is — it DOES NOT Oxidize. That’s a plus for me.

Having an oily skin complexion, I found that this foundation is long lasting, but you do need to wear powder. For me, this is normal, especially in the summer. Even with powder foundation, I have to either set it with a setting spray or refine my application to ensure that it will be fairly matte for the long work day. With a tinted moisturizer, I have to definitely powder the face. Otherwise, greasy disco ball will appear by 12PM. I normally wear a light layer of the foundation and use Shiseido’s translucent powder to prevent oiliness throughout the day. If I choose not to wear a powder, I find that my face does get oily, but blotting sheets helps. This doesn’t happen as much though with the Hourglass Immaculate Foundation, which is why it’s still one of my loves that I am eyeing.

As many YouTubers have mentioned, this foundation really does “sync” with your skin. I found that there are multiple techniques that give you a flawless finish. My favorite way to apply is with my Shiseido foundation brush. A round top kabuki will give you a fairly similar finish, however, my current brush absorbs a bit, so it’s not really my go to for this particular foundation. The fastest application is using my Real Technique’s Miracle Complexion sponge, and let me just say, I love this little orange sponge! It is so easy to apply a liquid foundation with this. In fact, it’s saved my Benefit’s Erase Paste (which I’ve had the hardest time applying for the longest time). You want flawless and quick coverage, the Miracle Complexion sponge is a winner.

I guess I should also mention how this foundation applies with or without a primer. I’m not the kind who goes half primer and not, I’m the kind of person who will apply a primer and foundation. Then, I’ll try it without. Both are used for over 8 hour days, and I’ll notice differences when it comes to application. I like this foundation with a primer. I’ve tried a few and they don’t make too much of a difference. The conclusion that I have is, no matter what, wear a primer with this foundation. I find that when I don’t wear a primer, it emphasizes some of my blemishes (i.e. Acne scaring, minor), but surprisingly, not my pores. Because of this, I’ve decided to wear a primer with this to ensure a more smooth finish.

This is a foundation that I’ve worn for 10 hours plus. It stays on. I don’t have to touch up at all. For me, if a foundation lasts over 8 hours, I can wear it light as opposed to thick full coverage, and it gives me a flawless finish (can get away without wearing concealer, which is always nice), then it’s a thumbs up for me.

My only critical feedback is that it’s a glass bottle. There’s nothing wrong with a nice glass bottle. I may not like the shape of the glass bottle for the Synchro Skin foundation, but it doesn’t bother me that much. However, my one gripe is that I can’t travel with it. While I don’t travel much, if I wanted to travel with this, I think I’m going to have to resort to packing this in a travel container because I don’t want the glass to break on me. The alternative to the foundation can be my other foundations since all are travel friendly. However, this, isn’t travel friendly, which is a bummer for me.

Another thing that was a bit of a downer for me, is that I do have to powder the foundation. It’s not a problem per say, since I have to do this for all my other bases. However, when I think about how the Houglass Immaculate doesn’t need it, I guess, I hold that kind of standard when it comes to a true oil free foundation. Again, it’s not really a problem. However, it’s just…once you’ve tried something awesome where you don’t need to powder, it’s just so nice to have something like that. So that’s really it.

There you have it! My first make up review.

Verdict: Love!

Would I buy? Yes

So, there you have it! Let me know if you want me to review anything that I have in my make up collection. It’s not much, but I do have enough that if you want to know more (blushes, eye liners, lippies), let me know and I can see what I can do!

Luv ya!

 

 

Leave a Reply

