Beauty Review: Body Shop’s Drops of Youth Serum

Happy Friday!

I’m always excited for Fridays because it means the weekend is here! Previously, while I was taking classes, I liked the weekend because I didn’t have to worry about work, but dreaded it because I knew what was coming — a weekend of studying. Now that such isn’t really the case, I look forward to family times and for the next couple of weeks — the OLYMPICS!!! Go #teamUSA!!!!

I personally like doing reviews as part of a blog, especially about products that are out there on the market but aren’t often raved about. It’s not necessarily because of PR that’s available by other bloggers and vloggers, I think that the beauty and makeup market is so saturated with products, that it’s hard to find things to review beyond what’s incredibly popular. Not complaining, I use such as a way to determine what I want to purchase, but every now and then, to discover an awesome product that isn’t raved about often, I think those are some pretty awesome finds that I’d like to give praise. I may do a product miss here and there, but I personally want to stay away from these, only because as useful as they are, I know a lot was invested to put a product out in the market, and I think purchasing numbers will speak for itself. It’s not necessary to write a review on a bad product. Word will get around without blogging and youtube….it’s just like restaurants and businesses…don’t underestimate the word of mouth. Trust me.

So, I reviewed the Shiseido Synchro Skin, and now I want to give a review on the Body Shop’s Drops of Youth Concentrate Serum that I purchased about 3 months ago (with my own money…I haven’t had sponsors or anything yet, being a new blogger and all), but let me just say how much I enjoy using this serum about 2-3x a week.

At my age, you have to start thinking about skincare. I know a lot of people told me to start earlier, but, being stubborn, I decided to start when I saw skincare issues. Go figure…

So the backstory to why I decided to purchase this was 1) There was a sale at Body Shop and 2) I started seeing sun spots. My sister raves about Body Shop and when I started looking around for skincare products for sun spots, she recommended that I look into The Body Shop. I love The Body Shop, they have this sugar wax for hair removal (not sold in the US…painful….) and as a high school student, this was my go to product for removing facial hair. Whenever a family member went to Asia, my sister and I would ask for this product. Then we discovered newer products that did the same as the Body Shop, so…that’s why we stopped using the sugar wax. However, going back to the Drops of Youth Concentrate….

The sales rep that I spoke to mentioned that she used the Drops of Youth Concentrate to help lighten sun spots. While the bottle itself does not specifically say that this would lighten said skincare issue, I knew beforehand that I needed to purchase some form of a serum for my skin and so, I decided I would purchase the smallest bottle (1.0 US fl oz) to try it out. The cost of this is $38 online. As mentioned above, there was a sale, so I did purchase this I think at 10% off.

Before getting into the review, here is its claims (on the bottle):

“Drop by Drop, day by day, Drops of Youth Concentrate leaves skin looking smoother, firmer, fresher, and more even.”

On the website:

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION

This innovative concentrate helps to enhance skin condition, leaving it looking smoother, fresher, and healthier. Taking its technology from plant stem cells from Criste Marine and Beech Bud extract, Drops of Youth Concentrate works to help boost surface skin cell renewal. Skin feels immediately moisturized and instantly softer. This serum is perfect for anyone looking for a treatment product to improve a skincare regime. Discover how to complete your Drops of Youth Skin Care Routine → .

  • Silicone-free
  • Paraben-free
  • Contains 99% natural ingredients
  • Contains 20% organic ingredients
  • 84% of users said skin looked smoother after four weeks

Normally, what I do is that I’d cleanse my face, open the bottle and using it’s glass dropper, I use about a pea sized amount on my face in the evening. I then top it with an oil free moisturizer or a light application of regular moisturizer.

After using this 2-3x a week (I switch off with Nude’s Advanced Renewal Repair Mask) for a couple of months now, I like this product for what it claims. I do feel like my skin is smoother, fresher, and healthier. Prior to this, I found my skin to look a little sallow-y, so I think that’s a win.

In addition, it doesn’t give me any side effects that can happen with those who have sensitive skin. It doesn’t burn, it doesn’t dry tacky, it doesn’t break me out. These are all pluses when it comes to a good skincare product for me. If there’s anything that causes this on my skin, it’s a no go for me. In fact, I’ll give it away to someone who can use it or return it after the first time this happens. Thankfully, this didn’t happen to me, and I’m glad that it works the way it does on my skin.

Now, does it deal with the original reason why I went to the Body Shop in the first place? No. I don’t think  lightened my sun spots. I think it probably has been an issue that I should have dealt with early on (i.e. wear sunscreen…gasp…I was bad at it… >_<). Do I think the product is for the issue though? I don’t think so…and if I hadn’t already been on the market for a serum, I don’t think I would have purchased it. I think to suggest a product that doesn’t deal with my skincare issue is a little deceiving, but needless to say, it’s a purchase that I like and I’ll continue using till I run out.

Would I suggest this to a friend? Yes

Do I love it? Yes, although not for what  I wanted.

There you have it! I hope you all appreciate these reviews. I’m not planning on doing reviews each week (that would not be a wise thing to do with my $ let alone the fact that I have a lot of skincare and makeup products that I want to use up). However, if you want me to review what I use, just comment and let me know what I use and I will do my best to post a review on that said product.

For all the photographers out there…stay tuned…I haven’t posted found a lot to photograph. However, if I do take a picture that’s worthy of a post, I will definitely do that soon! I have several throw back thursday photos, and if you want to see some of these (ranges from food to landscape to travel related pictures) also leave me a comment below!

Again, TGIF! Happy Friday! Enjoy the summer while you can!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

