Threading Up! My Review of ThreadUp

Hey guys! Happy Wednesday!

I’m excited to write this particular blog post because I was excited to try something new. This isn’t a sponsored post, but I’m always interested in trying new things when it comes to my wardrobe collection.

I was doing some summer cleaning recently and normally, I often would go through my wardrobe and find items that 1) I haven’t worn in a long time; 2) Doesn’t fit as it once did; 3) Transition of style for work and casual wear.

I go through phases when it comes to style for work and casual wear. I had a phase where I wore pants a lot. Thus, I had a lot of tops and slacks. While I still wear these, I’m definitely in a phase where in multiple seasons, I’ve been wearing a lot of dresses and skirts. When it comes to casual wear, it is jeans, tights, shorts, and shirts.

As a fairly classic and simple dresser, I’ve been playing with patterns as well. Not being a style icon or even stylish per se, I think playing with this is one of the most riskiest and hit/misses for me. It’s always led me to go back to what I’m most familiar with — solid dark colors.

So, when donating to local organizations became a bit more difficult due to the need to drive further or having to find bins where I can donate clothes, I started trying to find consignment stores and lo and behold, I discovered ThreadUp.

So, what is ThreadUp?

According to their website,

thredUP is the easiest way to save money on great Women’s and Kids’ clothing brands and sell clothes for cash. We’re like a consignment store, but simpler. On thredUP you can refresh your entire wardrobe online without ever leaving your house.

HOW IT WORKS:

Browse thousands of like-new clothing items, which we’ve hand-selected and certified for quality. You’ll find all your favorite brands discounted up to 90% off, year-round. Shop »

And, when you’re done with clothing, simply fill up a thredUP bag and put it on your doorstep. thredUP covers the shipping, and pays you for every item we can sell to other families. Hand down »

Our goal is to make your life just a little bit easier.

  • We eliminate the stress of deal hunting by offering consistent discounts every day.
  • We take the hassle out of bringing your kids into a store by allowing you to thredUP online.
  • We relieve that recycling guilt by helping you lighten your family’s carbon-footprint with every order.

Since the clothes that they accept are essentially the companies that I often shop at, I was able to fill the bag with items that don’t fit, a fashion miss, and I wanted to in some ways scale down my wardrobe. I’ve always wanted to be able to have a minimalist wardrobe with about 40-50 pieces (excluding shoes, tights, etc) that are good quality, classic, and not boring. I’m not there yet….but I think being able to scale down the amount of clothes I have is a good thing.

In previous posts, I’ve mentioned how I shop for clothes. I never buy full price. I buy things that are on sale and a lot of what I have are classic pieces, with some items that are more current and pattern like.

So, what are my thoughts on ThreadUp?

I think it’s one of the most convenient ways to scale down your wardrobe, especially if you shop at some of the places that they accept clothes. Some of the clothing stores that they accept include Forever 21, H&M, Old Navy, Gap, Banana Republic, Nine West, etc. The clothes that they accept must not be tattered and overly worn. The reason for this is that they are trying to sell these clothes like a consignment store. They offer some $ or credit to ThreadUp up front, and for clothes that sells, you get $/credit after it sells. For clothes that are don’t meet their standards, they are donated or recycled as opposed to thrown away.

I didn’t quite expect to not make that much, but I’m glad that I did make a small profit from what I did send to them. I love how it’s so easy, convenient, and I have a place where others can purchase clothes that I no longer wear or never wore at all (gasp!).

Would I do this again? I think I would. It may be a while since I do it again, only because I don’t clean out my wardrobe every season. I do it about once a year. Unless there’s a need to really do a purge…I think that’s when I’ll do this again. Part of it has to do with the fact that I love the pieces I have now and unless there’s a chance where I may have maxed up the space that I’ve allotted for clothes (Yes…I do that, I actually alot myself space and storage for clothes and don’t expand on what I have…been doing this for years now).

One thing that I learned from this whole experience is that I have to be a lot more more vigilent in picking clothes that aren’t as worn as I thought they were. Now…when you read that last statement, you must think that I gave some items that were a bit tattered but wouldn’t say it is. That’s not the case. I gave up a jacket that I wore maybe 10 times and it didn’t make the cut which was shocking to me because it wasn’t worn often. I guess that comes to show you how much I know about consignment stores. I’ve often donated my clothes, but never really given clothes to consignment stores.

Overall, I still have a lot to learn, but I do enjoy using ThreadUp as an avenue to give away wardrobe that I haven’t worn as opposed to keeping it in a plastic bin or the closet when there’s others who may like it, can use it, and I can make money from it.

One of the places I really want to try and donate to given that I do have a lot of work outfits (separates and single pieces), I do want to do more research on avenues where I can donate my clothes that I don’t wear that others can wear whether they can afford it or not. So, let me do some research and when I do donate or give away my clothes, I can share with you all what my thoughts are.

For ThreadUp, I think it’s awesome. Thumbs up to them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

