Practice Makes Perfect! Eye Shadow Application

In a previous post, I mentioned how I hate using eye shadows because my eyelids are greasy and they are so uncomfortable when I work or am out and about.

Another reason (#confessiontime) why I also don’t bother with eye shadow except for special occasions is that I suck at the art of putting on eye shadow. I do, I’m so bad at it, that honestly, I’m glad for eye shadow crayons and pencils. For work, if I totally wear eye shadow rather than eye liner, it’s a one toned deal. It usually a taupe or light brown (#ordinarygirl).

I definitely envy all the YouTubers that can do amazing eye shadow tutorials or looks, because I would love to do them! Alas! I’m not there. It’s ok to laugh about it, because I am. I laugh at my inability to apply eye shadow with all the beautiful gradients, and for someone like me who appreciates beautiful landscape photography or things that are beautiful, you appreciate gradient, and for me, I am so unable to do that!

However, I do believe in practice. So, here I am on the weekend trying to practice the art of placing eye shadow on my eyelids. The ability to apply eye shadow is not something one can do overnight. I know for me, mastering 3 colors took a while so it’s definitely something that I’m still learning.

I have the $50 Stila Eyes Are the Window Shadow Palette in Soul. It’s a palette that I’ve had for a few years now. It’s my first eye shadow palette, and I thought this was a cheaper buy than what I wanted which is the Naked2 Palette. At first, I really didn’t like it, and one of the reasons for this is that I didn’t know how to use it. I didn’t know how to blend my shadows. I looked 75% of the time liked I had a black eye when I did a smokey look. Then I thought the pigments looked light. I was all over the place. Now that I’m understanding how to use different colors, invested in some brushes (all affordable, i.e. ELF cosmetics), and practiced a bit, I am getting the hang of them. So, yeah to practicing and learning!

File_004
Eye shadow practice. As you can tell, I have nothing else on.. >_<‘

So, on my RIGHT, I did an evening look. On my LEFT, it’s more of a daytime look. Again, it’s practice, and it’s not something that I’m good at. These looks aren’t the looks I would maybe wear on a daily basis. However, it’s definitely looks that I would wear for an evening event or maybe an interview if I get one for nursing school. However, my daily look if I choose to wear eye shadow, it’s usually one shade. I’ve used my bronzer as an eye shadow and even a bit of my contour color as well.

This isn’t a tutorial. I think there are many YouTubers out there such as Karima, Lisa Eldridge, Wayne Goss, and so many others that give great tutorials on how to apply eye shadow a certain way. In fact, at your local Sephora, they do give tutorials on how to apply eye shadow and other types of make up. Definitely go check them out for classes. 🙂

I will say this though. The ability to identify what kind of eye you have is incredibly important when it comes to knowing how to apply eye shadow. I have a bit of a prominent almond shaped eye that’s slightly down turned (sad eyes as I like to call them). This means that I need to add a small (tiny) cat eye to help lift that eye up a bit. I think I did a decent job for my right eye. Not so much on my left.

For those of you who are like me, who envy the many who can do an awesome application of eye shadow. Fear not. I think with practice, one can achieve the looks that they want. I know that I’m pretty satisfied with what I pulled off in the above picture. I particularly like the evening look (my right eye)..so…if I have anything that I’m going to in the near future, I’ll definitely try that out (with pictures!)

One small epiphany that I had when I was taking this picture, is that I like how defined my eyes look with eyeliner. I’ve always been fond of eyeliner, and in my rather lazy bouts in the mornings, I haven’t really used eye liner as of recent. My go to is gel or good quality gel pencils, but this look was done by a shimmery purple eye shadow. So what I’m going to definitely try, given that it was so easy to do, is to try adding eye shadow as a liner, using my Urban Decay All Nighter Setting Spray to a 5-5 look.

So, in summary, for all you girls out there who are afraid to try more than one shade of eye shadow, definitely try. Practice is very important. While I did use a rather expensive palette, there are a few decently priced palettes out there. If you’re a gal who likes sticking with a single routine (i.e. the same few shades), there are plenty of drugstore brands that are worth looking into. For cream shadows, I love Maybelline’s Tattoo products (even the more newer liquid shadows) as well as L’Oreal’s line. For powders, I’ve tested out Nyx single shadows, and they’re awesome. I have Bare Mineral’s loose shadow powders, and love them as well. I haven’t tested out any palettes from the drug store since the Stila Palette is the only one I really have (unless you want to count my Urban Decay’s Naked on the Run palette. The thing is, if you plan on using eye shadows, feel free and invest in a palette that you like. I chose to invest in a more luxurious line and I don’t regret it. However, if it’s something that you can’t afford, please don’t buy that. Buy what you can afford, and if it’s a drugstore palette there are a lot of good ones. Cover Girl, Wet and Wild, Nyx, even ELF has some pretty good palettes. You don’t have to spend $50 on a palette. If you’re a beginner and you don’t want to spend so much on it, I definitely think finding something you can afford is good. If you get better at eye shadow application and you want to purchase a different palette and you can, go for it.

Ok, sorry guys…I just have a problem with people who say you have to have higher end palettes. I was at Sephora the other day and these high school students were talking about a palette and were pressuring one girl that she should buy it because it looks beautiful. The palette was over $50. I guess it’s something that just really blew me away, that high school students are buying high end make up with summer jobs and weekly allowances. I don’t know…and the peer pressure…it’s frustrating. I wouldn’t purchase that particular palette, not because of the quality or anything, but because I have one. But if I were in that young girl’s shoes, I would actually buy it. If I’m tempted as a 30-something year old professional, can you imagine?

Going back to the topic at hand…eye shadows are awesome products that brings personality to one’s make up routine. I love playing with it despite my amateur abilities. Despite my hatred of my oily lids and lack of abilities, practice, practice, practice. I believe in practicing, and who knows..maybe a future blog post will be a true smokey eye look.

Stay tuned…I took some awesome photos from last Saturday…excited to share them!

Leave a Reply

