5-5: An Old Love Revisited

Happy Thursday!

So this past week, I decided to do make up with an old favorite that I haven’t used in a while. With the flurry of foundation sticks that are come out, I found it interesting how many thought such would be going out of style. Lo and behold, here comes foundation sticks for the upcoming fall lines of multiple make up lines.

So, I bought the Shiseido Foundation Stick a while back when it first came out. This was to replace my liquid Shiseido foundation (Makeup Dual Balancing Foundation) in O60. Now, the thing with the Shiseido stick foundation is that they had a rather huge line back then, but they have since narrowed it down to 6 shades. If I were to buy a new foundation stick from them, I think I’d have to go with either the I40 or I60, which I’ll explain later.

So, what’s my 5-5 series? I choose 5 make up products that I will use for the day and do my make up in 5 minutes. That’s right, 5 minutes. My philosophy is that make up for ordinary day purposes such as work, running errands, etc, shouldn’t really take you more than 5-10 minutes a day. For special occasions, of course, that’s a different story. However, for day to day make up, I don’t think one ought to spend so much time on their make up.

I decided to take out an old favorite, which is the above Shiseido Foundation Stick. It’s a really easy and blendable foundation stick that doesn’t cake up my face. I will say though that using it does take some practice (not as much as eye shadows), but to understand its application and what to use with it is equally important. I would like to say that for this foundation, start of light and then build. Otherwise, you get cake face real quickly.

For my 5-5, I used the following products:

  1. Shiseido foundation stick in O60
  2. Bare Minerals Blush in Vintage Peach
  3. Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Gel in Expresso
  4. Tarte’s Gel Liner in Brown
  5. Burt’s Bees Tinted Lip Balm in Hibiscus (Holy Grail repurchase)

File_001

 

I decided to include the brushes I used. As you can see, the least amount of brushes that I use the better. That is not to say that I don’t have a decent sized collection of brushes though. I use them all just not all at once. 😉 For the foundation stick, I tend to use either my Shiseido foundation brush or my Real Technique’s Miracle Complexion sponge. The reason for this is that the foundation stick does give a more medium to fuller coverage base. This means that it’s a lot thicker than what I would normally wear. Why? I just felt like revisiting something that I liked. Now, I will say this — in hot weather, I would not wear this. It is not oil free, and my mistake when I wore this foundation while running around at work is that I felt a bit greasy. It wasn’t bad or anything, but I definitely wouldn’t wear this on a hot day (my definition of a hot day = 80 degrees Fahrenheit). So when you see my face below, it’s a little more made up than normal, and it’s definitely something I won’t use on an every day basis.

The last rounded brush you see on the left is what I use for my blush. Now, I did use a bit of a heavier hand with this than normal and that was more of a mistake on my part than anything. The final look doesn’t look like it, however, when you see me in person, it looks a bit heavier handed than normal. Again, a mistake, but it looked good on camera, so what can I say?

Rather than use a mascara, I decided to use a gel eye liner, and I’m using the Tarte Gel Eyeliner in Brown. I’ve always enjoyed brown liners more than black, and I think it looks a lot more natural with my skin tone and a day time look. I discovered brown eyeliners right out of college and I loved the Maybelline unstoppable retractable eye pencil in brown. I remembered how many were saying that they’d never try brown eye liner, and when they saw my look, they were like “I’m going to try brown eye liner, I like that look on you!” Let me just say, I was not the best with make up back in the day, I wanted something that wasn’t so harsh and so I bought a brown eyeliner and threw the black eyeliner into my make up stash which was a travel bag back in the day (think quart size ziploc back..yeah…).

In college I learned…and you can laugh, that when you use a base like foundation, your eyebrows get lighter. My complaint to my friends were that my eyebrows aren’t as dark as before putting on make up, and they said that I needed some sort of brow product. So, I have a few and I definitely like brow gel a lot more compared to pencils, pomades, and powders. Pomades may be my next favorite, but I definitely reach for my brow gel more than the pomade. So, I use the gel to give it texture and color.

Lastly, I added a bit of color. So, funny story…I really like my L’Oreal Color Riche Balm in Lovely Mauve, and it’s…an old one. I recently found it, tried it out, and literally threw it away. Essentially it was so old, that it developed a salty taste (Nasty right?). Anyway, I have so many lip products, I decided that I’d use a Holy Grail product, the Burt’s Bee Tinted Lip Balm in Hibiscus. I defintely would like to try a few more colors by them, I love them and they have some incredibly natural nude colors. However, I holding out on a few favs that I’ve been loving that I’ve found at Sephora, so…(smiling, tempted, but will not buy). Maybe one of these days I should do a wish list blog post….but, given the amount of lip products that I do have…I’m ok for now. Anyways, I did use the tinted lip balm, which gives is awesome because it hydrates my lips while also adding color to my lips. The color hibiscus is close to my lips but better (MLBB), so that’s what I enjoy.

Here’s the final look.

File_000

As you can see, it’s a bit made up (more than normal) and while I can appreciate this look, it’s definitely not something that I intend on using everyday. In fact if I had a choice, I’d probably use my Synchro Skin foundation or even a tinted moisturizer.

The thing I find funny is that I had been debating for some time on whether or not I’d invest again in tinted moisturizers because they give a lighter finish, it’s a lot more sheer than a lighter weight foundation (for instance the Immaculate foundation by Hourglass or even what I’m really wanting to try the Make Up Forever Water Blend). Honestly, Laura Mercier’s tinted moisturizer costs $44, while my Synchro Skin costed $45. However, when I used this foundation, it definitely doesn’t fit my bill of light weight foundation. The color, if lighter (say an I40 or even an O40) would have made this a good foundation for the winter. It’s creamy and hydrating, and when the winter comes, I definitely feel that I’d use this more. It’s not to say that I wouldn’t use my other Shiseido foundations (Especially the Advanced Hydro Skin, which I do own in I40). However, I do think I’d use this for more special occasions that requires a bit more coverage (i.e weddings or socials).

So, there you have it! My 5-5 look for the week. Let me know if you guys want me to do a 5-5 glam look. Not that I have anything coming up that requires a more made up look, but I’m happy to do one with a bolder lip or even the smokey eye that I posted previously. Leave a comment below and I’ll see you next time!

Leave a Reply

