5-5 Make Up Series: The Weekend Whatever

After heading the the gym, I decided to put on some make up and went with 4\5 products and managed to do it in 5 minutes (and under). I was actually watching You Tube while doing this, so technically, it probably would have taken less time than it should have, but hey…I was distracted.

One thing I learned (which I don’t know why  I never did), is that after lap swimming, you should always chapstick on hand. It’s strange, I’ve been on swim team and swam for many years, gave it a break as I went on to do types of physical activity, got back into the pool when Rio 2016 started (#TeamUSA). After getting out of the pool and all, I realized while putting on moisturizer that my lips were incredibly chapped. I never realized it. Well, now I know what I’m going to be putting in my gym bag for the next time.

Anyway, I wanted something simple. It’s not really my own the go. Honestly, my definition of on the go is moisturizer and sunscreen. So this is more long the lines of on the go with some make up. It’s a whatever look for me, where there’s some effort that went into my look. What am I to say?

One thing to keep in my mind when you’re doing a weekend whatever look, is you can look somewhat put together based on two things — eyebrows and lips. You don’t have to do a contour or the eyes. However, eyebrows and lips can make you look a lot more put together. When you add a light base (whether powder or tinted moisturizer or sheer foundation) alongside these two things, you automatically look a lot more put together than without make up.

Now, next week, one thing I’m planning on doing (so get ready) is to show a before and after photo. I’ve been thinking a lot about the #nomakeup movement that Alicia Keyes and now Nicole Richie is doing and I realized that they’re onto something about people’s perception of women and make up. I also think that the more make up you wear, the more pressure you feel like you have to wear it on a daily basis. So, for me, I like make up, but again, I use it to emphasize different areas of my face, to look more awake, and to look professional without having to put on a full mask of product. So, I figured I’d show all of you folks out there what I look like before make up and after makeup. What I’m hoping you’ll see is that when I wear make up, honestly, I still look like…me. I love the fact that I can wear make up and still be me or go out and people won’t notice that I don’t have make up on. So…that’s coming up next week. Give me a like if you want to see this and also if you agree with me on this idea of makeup. Also, leave a comment as well on what your thoughts are on make up and the #nomakeup movement.

So, what am I wearing for this under 5 make up look?

As a heads up —

  1. No primer.
  2. No SPF (because my tinted moisturizer has a good amount)

Products:

  1. Shiseido’s Urban Environment Tinted UV Protector (Has SPF 43; I’m using this in Medium)
  2. Shiseido’s Loose Translucent Powder
  3. Tarte’s Amazonian Clay  Waterproof Brow Mousse
  4. L’Oreal Glossy Lip Balm in Lovely Mocha
  5. Covergirl’s Full Lash Bloom Mascara

That’s it.

*I forgot about the Mascara when I took this picture… >_<‘ Can you tell I was also distracted by next week’s Ulta 21 Days Sale? O_O….*

Brushes:

  1. Flat Top Kabuki Brush
  2. Tarte’s Brow and Spoolie (is that how you spell this?) brush
File_002
Only 2 brushes this time! ^_^

It’s a very simple look that doesn’t require very much effort. It may not look like I have anything on except for the lip balm. However, the fact that my brows are done and there’s color on my lip, I think it offsets what may look like I don’t have very much on.

Now, if you follow my 5-5 Make up series, you’ll know that I often wear some form of primer underneath my base to smooth out pores and complexion. However, there are times where I’ll just go without it, especially if I’ve moisturized well. For moisturizer, I am using the Pond’s Rejuveness Anti-Wrinkle Moisturizer. This comes in a travel size bottle at your local drugstore or retail store, and this is what I travel with (yes, this includes the gym).

I didn’t do my makeup at the gym locker room, however, when I got back (which is why I was on YouTube), I did put on this simple make up look before running to Ulta. It was their last day to use the 20% discount coupon on drugstore priced items (i.e. not their prestige brands). While I didn’t purchase any make up products, I did stock up on micellar water, which is what I use to remove make up at the end of a typical day.

While watching YouTube, I put on a very light layer of tinted moisturizer (Shiseido). I find that I’m reaching for this more than the Laura Mercier one in the summer time when I want to use a tinted moisturizer. I find that this 1) matches my summer skin color a lot more and 2) it’s more oil controlling than the Laura Mercier one. I do use a bit of powder for both, however, I don’t have to use as much with the Shiseido tinted moisturizer.

After that, I used Tarte’s brow mousse. Now, let me just say, a little of this goes a long way. When I first tried this, I wasn’t sure if I was getting product onto the brush, so I kept going at the mousse. Little did I know, my eyebrows would look like a Chinese opera singer. So, a little does go a long way, especially if you want the brows to look natural. After brushing on the mousse, I then used the spoolie end to come the hairs out.

I then applied a little bit of mascara. Now, I’m not sure if I ever mentioned in my blog about the Covergirl Full Last Bloom before, but it’s not really a favorite or a go to. Honestly, if I had to give a review of this, I would say that I would probably not repurchase this. I’m using it to simply use up the product. It does give me natural lashes, however, does it “bloom?” I don’t think it’s close. Even if I curl my lashes, I find that it doesn’t do much. Of course, it was through this typical mascara that I realized how much I like natural bristled mascaras more than the plastic bristles. This is my 2nd Covergirl mascara, and I have to say that I’m not a fan of Covergirl mascaras. It’s a pass for me, but I’ll keep using it just because I have it.

Lastly, I put on a glossy lip balm. What I like about the L’Oreal Glossy Lip Balm is that it a balm and tint all in one. The color lasts a good while. I was sipping coffee, went to Ulta, then went to dinner with the family and it stayed on, which is amazing for a glossy lip balm. Was it glossy for hours? No. I mean…I wouldn’t expect it to, but I do like how it provides color to my lips as well as some shine. I’m normally not into a shiny lip color or gloss, I do prefer matte lips. But, I like this as much as the Colour Riche Lip Balms (which I still need to replace…sadness).

And that’s my Weekend Whatever ! Again, I think it could have been done less than 5 minutes, but I was distracted when I was watching YouTube.

Have a great #LaborDay Weekend guys! (US Folks)

 

Leave a Reply

