6-5 Make Up Series: Evening Festivities

Hey guys!

Happy Monday! Many of you may be wondering…where have I been? This girl use to post 3 posts a week, and last week, NONE!

I apologize, it’s been incredibly busy for me. Essentially I’ve been commuting/traveling throughout California, life, and yes…an interview for a nursing school.

Being so busy, I would have posts made, but no pictures. What’s a blog post without pictures right? So essentially I had one about an interview look from work, a commute beauty post, a photo blog (which I actually want to do, because I have an awesome picture to show. :D)

Any how…I’m sorry guys…for not posting last week.

What I haven’t done is an evening look, and not that I have much happening in the evening, but yesterday, I had an evening event where I had a chance to dress up. I figured I’d do a 6-5 Make Up Series on an evening look.

Now..ladies, let’s be honest, keeping it to 5 products in 5 minutes was hard this time, because it’s an evening look. I nearly took out 8 products and wanted to just do an evening look. However, I was in a rush, because I had to go get a refill on coffee before the event, and 5 minutes..well, it was all I had. So, essentially what I learned is that you can create a polished look with 6 products and 5 minutes.

I lucked out today, because I won’t be seeing anyone up close in personal. I was on stage, so, a polished look was the goal. No need to be glammed up, so, essentially these are the products that I used for this look.

Moisturizer: Shiseido Oil Free Moisturizer

Primer: Smash Box Primer Water

Make Up Products:

1. Laura Mercier’s Tinted Moisturizer (Oil Free) in Bisque

2. Urban Decay’s Naked on the Run Bronzer

3. Urban Decay’s Naked on the Run Blush

4. Urban Decay’s Naked on the Run Highlighter

5. Nars Liquid Eye Liner in Koala

6. Revlon’s Matte Lip pencil in Sultry

Setting Spray: Urban Decay’s All Nighter Spray

img_1461

So, why 6 products? When you’re up on stage, for an evening look, in a little black dress, you need a few things, including a highlighter. You also need a lip product. So, I broke my 5 products in 5 minutes…but hey, I used 6 products in 5 minutes, so hey…I think it’s ok. 😉

As you’re reading this, you’re probably wondering — you were on stage, it’s an evening event….what and where did I go?

So, I was in an evening concert where I helped celebrate 45 years at the church I go to. Now, obviously, I’m not 45 years old, but I’m on the worship band, where I play the keyboard…specifically I get to play all the fun sounds like strings, synths, etc. When you’re on stage with house lights on you for 2 hours, you not only need make up that won’t make you look like a greaseball on stage, but that lasts. Let me just say, I can get emotional hearing stories, and some of the stories, wow…let me just say, I can not only relate, but I can say that I had a lot of gratitude for just the ways in which God really worked. It really made me think about God’s faithfulness in my own life.

That being said, being on stage, I had to not look like a hot mess. Since it’s fall and my skin is becoming combination skin where my T-Zone remains oily but the rest of my face becomes dry. I was able to use my Laura Mercier Moisturizer. Now, as an oil free product, despite the fact that the color fits me more during the fall/winter, it’s surprisingly oily when I wear this in the spring. So, even though I could use this, add a ton of bronzer in the summer to match my neck and all, I don’t use it because it makes me oily in a matter of oils. For the summer, if I need just an even tone, I reach for my Shiseido Urban Tinted Moisturizer because that, I find, really does give me an oil free base. The Laura Mercier doesn’t do it as much, even if I powdered and use a setting spray. However, for this time of year, I like it more, so I use it now.

Then using the Naked on the Run palette, I used bronzer, blush, and highlighter. Since the Laura Mercier Moisturizer sets to a dewy/semi-matte finish, with house lights on, I did need a highlighter on my cheekbones. I used a very little amount because I didn’t want to look like a disco ball, but I wanted enough sheen on there to highlight the areas where the light was hitting me.

I went with a liquid eye liner that I knew would not budge if my eyes become teary, because…I mean…you never know…I’m an F  (aka feeler) for Myers Briggs, so, you never know. Rather than a full on black, I went for the gray (Koala is the color), and I like this because it’s not as harsh. I have black gel eye pencil and gel liner but I find that it’s harsh. Maybe I’m not use to such a color on my lids, but since I wasn’t trying to do a winged liner or anything too dramatic, I like a gray or charcoal liner. Having used a liquid eye liner in the past, I actually switched to a gel liner, because it was so much easier to put on. I was like “Forget liquid liner, gel liner…I like!” The Nars Liquid  eye liner….amazing. Expensive, but amazing. Definitely if I wanted to repurchase a liquid liner, this is the line I’d buy. I have a few gel liners I’d like to get through before I go repurchase this one, and I’m actually enjoying the Nyx eye gel liner pencils as well, so….a liquid eye liner isn’t on my wish list to purchase. However, this liquid liner, love love love…. (hearts emolji).

I then added a natural pink lip using Revlon’s matte lip pencil in Sultry. Now. I debated on 3 other lip colors and thought about going with a bolder red lip. However, I decided against it. It’s not that I didn’t want to, I felt like with the natural look that I had, a natural pink lip with a pink mauve color would be nice, so I went with this. For all of you who don’t know. I was sipping on coffee through the entire run through, so I needed something long lasting as well, which meant….that I needed a long lasting lip color. Revlon matte lip crayon/pencil…this lasts all day. So..if I’m sipping on coffee for an hour….while playing the keyboard…well, I needed something to last and not flake off. Another love of mine….definitely a repurchase.

Then I set all of this with the All Nighter Setting Spray by Urban Decay and ran out the door.

After grabbing coffee, here I am with the final look, sitting in my car, before I went in for the run through. Here’s a look with and without a filter.

That’s it guys! Hope you all like this.

Fall and Winter are normally the times when people get interviews for grad school. For all you potential grad school folks, let me know if you want to see an interview look. One thing to keep in mind, is that a grad school interview is NOT the same as a job interview. Many of them range from a few hours to a whole day. Not only ones make up need to last, but it needs to look clean and polished. You can add some personality to it, but overall, the look needs to be simple, professional, and clean. I know there are so many different types of looks you can pull off. However, simple, clean, and professional is the way to go. An interview — I call it the “make or break it” moment. Trust me. So, let me know if you want to see what I did for my make up look. I used more than 5 products, and it definitely took more than 5 minutes.

All right all, that’s all, I can ramble on and on…till next time…a photoblog! 🙂

Oh and by the way, who likes my new glasses? ^_^

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

