6-5 Make Up Series: Amtrak Make Up Session (Awkward?)

Hello from rainy, and currently dark California!

I’m sitting on the Amtrak train right now at 6AM and you guessed it, I’m off to another work event!

I often opt for public transportation when I have to travel north or into the city (i.e. SF) since traffic in the Bay Area can be such a pain at times. It’s often easier to simply just take public transportation like Amtrak where you sit, relax, and enjoy whatever view you get rather than sit for hours in a car listening to the radio, CD, or bluetooth from your smartphone.

I know that many complain a lot about public transportation, and I don’t blame you for them. I wish BART would have wifi like Amtrak. I wish I didn’t have to get up earlier just to take public transportation at times. However, I must say, it’s a lot more convenient here in California, especially if you’re in the Bay Area. In addition, you also get some physical activity in because as part of public transportation, you get what transportation and public health folks call — first and last mile (or 10-30 minutes of walking from car/house to bus stop or train to when you get off public transportation to work place). Lo and behold, people think they can’t get in 30 minutes of walking a day, well…there you go. ๐Ÿ™‚

Now…this blog post is all about make up, and let me just say, with an early train where I’m out in public, and doing some make up is quite awkward. However, there are people who will do this. I’ve seen it on Bart, on the train (I sat next to someone once and all we talked about is make up), and surprisingly in the car (i.e. Driver doing make up. O_O…). Since I missed out on doing a post specifically on commuting and make up, I thought it would be fun to do one on the train (as it’s commuting) and for the rain.

Now, I do have rain appropriate gear with me (i.e. Umbrella and jacket), so I’m not about to test make up by going out into the rain. However, with a commute, it’s nice to use make up that is long lasting.

For those who are new to my blog, I like doing 5-5 Make Up Series, where I use 5 products in 5 minutes. My previous post, and this will include 6 products, in which I can still do my make up in 5 minutes. Now, the goal of this make up series compared to a sample or make up review or popular blog/vlog topics is that I am a big believer of doing practical make up using both high end & drug store products to do make up for every day and work. Beyond special occasions, I’m not a big believer in a full face of make up for the every day. I prefer as many women, I’m sure do, prefer the no make up makeup look, or whatever is needed to ensure a more polished look. My personal preference is no make up, however, I know that sometimes we need it, but I prefer keeping such as minimal as possible, because let’s face it. Men don’t have to wear make up when they go to work. This is why I created the series, where you use 5-6 products, and do your make up in 5 minutes without freaking out. I can, and I know you can too! ๐Ÿ™‚

Prior to leaving this morning, I’ve primed my face with Smashbox’s Primer Water and using a dampened Real Techniques Miracle Complexion sponge, I’ve already placed 1 pump of Shiseido Synchro Skin foundation in Rose 3. That’s the only thing I’ve done thus far.

I’m carrying the following items in my portable make up bag.

1. Shiseido bronzer (oil free) in Light

2. Milani’s blush in Luminoso

3. L’Oreal’s Glossy Balm in Lovely Mocha

4. Shiseido pressed translucent powder compact

5. Cover Girl’s Full Lash Bloom Mascara

img_1502
You should have seen that mascara and glossy balm roll!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

 

I’m carrying two Forever 21 brushes — a face and blush brush. I will say, not my favorite when it comes to affordable make up brushes. It does the job for me, so I have them on hand when I need them. If I had to go back, I probably wouldn’t have picked these up. They were recommended by an old aquaintance who said that the brushes were good, and she does pretty good make up, so I thought I’d give these a try when I was first trying out make up. Yeah…now that I know about other brands that are out there, probably won’t be repurchasing these.

I’m also carrying Q-Tips, because, let’s face it. The train, may not be the most ideal place to put on mascara.

So, foundation took about 2 minutes this morning after applying primer. I applied primer water, and waited for this to dry. In the process, I straight ironed my hair and dampened my sponge. I then placed on my foundation, and out the door I went. Easy. ๐Ÿ™‚

I started by setting my face with translucent powder. Because the train is so close, I didn’t have to worry about oils yet. Given that we’re in the winter months, oils don’t come out till a lot later in the day. However, I do set this, because it does get greasy.

I then bronzed my face using the bigger fluffy blush brush. Starting near the hollows of my check, I placed this close to the start of my eyes, then made a 3 like shape from temples to jaw bone. I blended all this out.

Then using the same brush, I applied blush to the tops of my cheeks.

Lucky me, there was a train station stop, so at that opportune moment, I applied on mascara. When the train started again, I did poke my eye out so (laughing at myself as my left eye watered), proceeded to do my other eye while I let the left eye rest. Using a Q-tip, I then wiped off any make up mishaps (i.e. Mascara).

Right before the train lands in good ol Sacramento, the state capitol of California, I applied a touch of my glossy balm and I am good to go!

Off to Starbucks for a coffee refill before I go into my work day in Sacramento! ๐Ÿ™‚

Final look:

img_0087
Hello double chin (taken with my IPad)

Excuse the blurry pictures. I am after all on a train! ๐Ÿ™‚

Until next time folks!

Happy Friday!

