November’s 30 Days of Gratitude

Hey guys!

Happy November!

When I think about November, I often think about Thanksgiving and Thanksgiving is a time to be thankful.

In years past, I often took time to reflect on what I’m thankful for in the past 10 months (January to November), and while it’s great to actually think about all that’s happened this year, I’m going to take a 30 day gratitude challenge.

Pinterest is awesome in that there are many prompts to think about when it comes to gratitude. I found this:

img_1529

It’s not as “deep” as I would like, but I think it’s good to think about the things we are thankful for on a daily basis. Surprisingly, there’s a lot of science about gratitude/thankfulness. Without being all very technical, here’s a link to the science of gratitude:

http://abcnews.go.com/Health/science-thankfulness/story?id=15008148

http://www.today.com/health/be-thankful-science-says-gratitude-good-your-health-t58256

In the day and age when many are stress, anxiety, and depression are at an all time high, I think a momentary pause in the day to think about what you are thankful for is important. In fact, I think it helps one perceive their outlook in life differently.

This is why I want to do a 30 day gratitude challenge series on my blog, and I invite you to join me to do a 30 day challenge. You don’t have to do the prompts above, you’re welcome to whatever prompt you like to think about when it comes to gratitude.

So, Day 1’s Prompt is: What smell are you grateful for today?

Now, I must say when I saw this prompt, the first word that came to my mind is SHALLOW. Who cares about smell? I mean, smell allows me to smell good and bad things…good things, that make me hungry and bad things which makes my nose crinkle in dislike.

However, upon a momentary pause while watching the TV show Bull, I realized something — to be grateful for a smell means one must first be grateful for the fact that one has a nose. To go even further, one’s nose has a great deal of sensory nerves where senses travel to the brain.

So..what am I getting at? Sure…I can say that in the morning and evening today, I’m grateful for the smell of coffee (Which I am…I really love the smell of coffee in the morning…and after dinner, I was glad for such because I ate some good diner food). 🙂 However, that momentary pause of thinking about that sense of smell, good or bad, is the fact that I have the ability to smell. Now, I’m no expert on the how it all works, but the fact that I can smell things is something that I can be grateful for. It means that my body is working as it should (you smell something and your brain identifies what you’re smelling…).

So, there you have it…Day 1 of the 30 Day Gratitude Challenge. What are you thankful for today?

 

 

Leave a Reply

