Palette V Individual Make Up Items for Travel

Hey guys! With the holidays coming up, I wanted to do a blog post about an extended travel bag that consists of make up.

As you know, I went to Denver recently, and one thing that I decided to do differently this time around, because I was staying for a week there, I decided to not pack my normal Urban Decay Naked on the Run Palette and instead opted for individual make up items. The only palette I did bring was the Balm Cosmetics AutoBalm in California (Represent right?). This has since been discontinued on the Balm Cosmetics website which is unfortunate because this is such a small yet beautiful palette that’s not only compact, but great for traveling.

img_1546

I must say, not packing a giant palette does have it’s advantages in that you have a lot more room to work with when it comes to space. Perhaps it’s because the Urban Decay Naked on the Run palette is so bulky and takes up a lot of room in my Daisy bag, that I wasn’t liking my palette at that point. It wasn’t like I bought that many items with me during that particular trip. However, this trip, with my experiment, I have to say that I am reconsidering the purchase of these larger palettes for travel.

So below are all the items that I packed for this specific trip.

img_1530

I am missing one item here in that I brought with me Make up Forever’s Water Blend Foundation samples that I had got from Sephora (Same sample as when I did my review of the MUFE foundation). I didn’t show you a lot of other items in my bag, as they’re kind of standard items such as moisturizer (I did bring with me that sample of the Clinique Pep + Blur moisturizer — LOVE!!), Q-Tips, etc. However, isn’t that crazy? I brought that much make up with me when I didn’t bring the medium sized palette. That to me is crazy.

In a nutshell, I used all of the make up I did bring, I had all these items on a rotation. Did I need to bring that much? Absolutely not. Again, it was an experiment for me to see just how much make up I can bring when it comes to a travel bag. Depending on what you do for the holidays, if you are the kind of person who loves to change their make up each day, I do think traveling with individual make up items as I did for my trip to Denver is worthwhile. If you’re the kind who likes to do the same make up but perhaps change up your eyes, then I think a travel eye palette would suffice for traveling. In fact, you can even travel with individual pan shadows if you want.

Overall, when I see the amount of items I was able to pack for this particular trip, I must say that the palette is something that I don’t know if I would purchase anymore, especially when it comes to traveling. It’s bulky and while it has the potential for variety, I find that you can do this without needing to buy a palette just for travel. The palette that I have and travel the most with happens to be a gift, so it’s something that I like, but I find that it’s not necessary. In fact, you could utilize many products for various things if you’re into variety, and for me, I find that at the core of makeup, being able to creatively utilize individual make up items like a bronzer for eye shadow or a shadow as a highlighter. Would I bring that much makeup to a trip? No. It’s an experiment, for me to see if I am able to use more product in the same bag without using a palette. I have to say that it’s caused me to really rethink the idea of a palette. Again, there’s nothing wrong with palettes. However, I find that it’s bulky-ness for traveling can be cumbersome. It does offer one the opportunity to be creative however, if makeup companies can somehow transform palettes to something that is durable yet travel friendly, I believe that there is a potential to invest in palettes. However, for me, I don’t think I’m willing to invest in palettes again. Eye shadow palettes are different, however, travel sized eye shadow palettes are something to look into, but because I have cream and powder eye shadows in addition to bronzer, I find that for me, right now, a palette isn’t worth investing either.

So, some looks I created are below. I didn’t want to put up a makeup look each day, because it’s fairly similar.

However, if you want me to do a make up challenge where I used different make up each day, let me know and I can do that for you. This probably will have to be done before school starts, because when school starts, you can probably guess that I won’t be wearing that much products. So it would have to be sooner rather than later. However, if you want me to do make up looks as a busy nursing student, let me know, and I can try to plan a few of those out when I start school. šŸ™‚

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

