30 Days of Gratitude Challenge Day 22: Story I’m grateful for

Happy Tuesday! Only 1 more day before I get to go on holiday (i.e. Stay at home, relax…read a bit of NCLEX….maybe some shopping late Friday afternoon….)

For those of you who are new to my blog site, welcome! I’m currently doing a 30 day gratitude challenge, and I’m 8 days out from finishing the challenge.

Today’s prompt is this — What story are you grateful for?

Being a story teller myself, stories are something that I appreciate a lot. Whether it’s of history or an inspiring book, I find that we as individuals can learn a lot from stories that people tell.

I recently discovered Humans of New York on Facebook, and I personally appreciate the multitude of stories that are shared via social media that many of us may not often know about or see. It’s a personal account that many people share or may not normally share with people. There were some stories that are incredibly heart breaking. Yet, there are many that are also inspiring.

Also, another recent favorite is facebook posts by a Bay Area reporter by the name of Frank Somerville, and honestly, for a reporter who isn’t bent on fame or scandal, to share real life and logical sense of mind on some current events that are happening today, I also have found his posts on various stories about things happening throughout the US inspiring as well.

So there are many stories that I like to read about and reflect on. It’s better than these other stories that only bring about emotion and often times a negative reaction. The domino effects of where humanity was and where it is now is incredibly evident in social media. Yet here, in Humans of New York and Frank Somerville’s posts, I see a realism that’s not necessarily about the raw emotion, the wrong, the bad, and the ugly.

This brings me to my ultimate favorite story, the story that many times I’m most grateful for. The books are definitely a little hard to read given it’s intricate details (but hey…I like details…soo…). However, my favorite story would have to be Lord of the Rings, and this would be the entire trilogy. If the books are too much, I highly highly recommend the movies (more than the Hobbit, which I like, but the Lord of the Rings Trilogy is my all time favorite movie). The trilogy shares the story of a world that’s being invaded by evil and how this tiny creature, a hobbit (Frodo) is sent to destroy this one ring that has wrecked havoc through an alternative world called Middle Earth.

Back when it came out, many watched because of the cute elf, Legolas. However, I was drawn by the story itself, of the friendships and bonds amongst different creatures, the struggle to not give in to darkness, death and despair, sacrifice in war, and so many other things. Some of my favorite quotes that are so inspiring from the story itself includes the following:

“It’s like in the great stories, Mr. Frodo. The ones that really mattered. Full of darkness and danger they were. And sometimes you didn’t want to know the end… because how could the end be happy? How could the world go back to the way it was when so much bad had happened? But in the end, it’s only a passing thing… this shadow. Even darkness must pass.” Sam wise Gamgee

My favorite conversation:

Frodo: I can’t do this Sam.

Sam: I know. It’s all wrong. By rights we shouldn’t even be here. But we are. It’s like in the great stories, Mr. Frodo. The ones that really mattered. Full of darkness and danger, they were. And sometimes you didn’t want to know the end. Because how could the end be happy? How could the world go back to the way it was when so much bad had happened? But in the end, it’s only a passing thing, this shadow. Even darkness must pass. A new day will come. And when the sun shines it will shine out the clearer. Those were the stories that stayed with you. That meant something, even if you were too small to understand why. But I think, Mr. Frodo, I do understand. I know now. Folk in those stories had lots of chances of turning back, only they didn’t. They kept going. Because they were holding on to something.

Frodo: What are we holding onto, Sam?

Sam: That there’s some good in this world, Mr. Frodo…and it’s worth fighting for.

Let me just say, if you haven’t seen Lord of the Rings trilogy, especially the extended versions, it’s a must see. [Thinking to myself to see if I want to rewatch this…it’s been a while….]

It’s a story that isn’t merely a feel good movie. It’s a movie that really shows what darkness can do to someone, friendships that form that seem like the impossible, betrayal, death, evil, and most of all hope. Don’t we all wish for a story with all of this? I know these days, everyone has to be on their toes when it comes to TV shows and all. But there’s something about Lord of the Rings, both the books and the movies that really shows a story for what it is, and for me it’s a story I’m grateful for because through all the challenges that it took for a young hobbit to leave the comforts of his home, to go on such an adventure where there is a whole lot of uncertainty, there is hope. A fight for hope worth fighting for…goodness worth fighting for, and for me, yeah it’s not Saving Private Ryan, Sully, or even the Big Short. However, such a movie that is so inspiring that it’s something to be grateful for.

So, there you have it! The Story I’m grateful for. See ya!

 

Leave a Reply

