2016 Make up & Beauty Loves, the Ehs, & Disappointments

Hey guys!

With 2016 ending and 2017 starting in just a few hours, I wanted to share some of my loves, ehs, and disappointments in beauty and makeup. Now, unlike many vloggers and bloggers, I don’t receive products from companies. Rather all the products that I do talk about, I’ve purchased or sampled. Those that I’ve sampled, I’ll make note of. All other products, I’ve purchased for myself, so, there is no bias as these are items I’ve used for quite some time for me to have an opinion on them. These are all products purchased this year and now products that I’ve kept and used in 2016. That would be holy grail and super loved products. If you want a post about that, let me know and I can do that. For this post however, I’m sticking with products purchased in the year 2016.

Let’s start with the disappointments:

img_1706

While I didn’t “haul” many items as others would consider a haul, there are items that I was disappointed in that I purchased and was surprised one way or another. So here we go with my disappointments.

  • Nyx brow powder & wax: While the powders themselves give quite good coverage, the brushes and wax was the primary reasons for why this unfortunately didn’t make the cut for me when it came to a brow product. While I can’t say I’ve tried a whole bunch of brow products, in all honesty, the Tarte brow pomade and ABH brow gel are still winners in my boat. Thus, this wasn’t for me.
  • Benefit Erase Paste: Why did I buy this in the first place? Well, I had dark circles and when I went to the Benefit counter at Macy’s, this applied beautifully on me. I go home, tried it with multiple brushes, sponges, and finally the only thing that made it look decent was my Real Techniques Miracle complexion sponge. If I ever have to buy another corrector, this unfortunately will not be a repurchase of mine. I’ll still use it now that I know how to, but the fact that it took that many tries to figure out how to even do this, I hate to say it, it landed in my disappointment pile.
  • Maybelline’s Baby Skin Instant Pore Eraser: While it did minimize my pores slightly, I felt like this wasn’t a clear dupe that many vloggers have mentioned to be for the Pore-fessional by Benefit. While I myself tried the Benefit primer and wasn’t all too much sold on it, I felt like the Maybelline one was a bit heavy. I did prefer the Body Shop’s Wonderblur over this (which I had gotten on sale for about $15), but as of yet, the two products that I felt truely did blur out my pores that I’ve sampled personally is the Clinique Pep & Blur (dual moisturizer and primer) as well as Philosophy’s In the Present (primer).
  • Olay Bright on Schedule Eye Awakening Cream: My Shiseido White Lucent does a similar thing…this did nothing. Don’t worry the Shiseido White Lucent didn’t make my wins…but this Olay cream did absolutely nothing to my undereyes one bit. The search for an eye cream that helps brighten and if it even takes away some of the baggage is still on. Those who have a good eye cream, please comment down below, because I want to find one that works. I have yet to find one.
  • Nyx Cheek and Contour Duo Palette (Ginger & Pepper): I may say that part of this might be my fault. I’ve been on the search for a contour shade for quite some time and I have to say the best thing I found was the Nyx cheek powder blush in Taupe. Since I don’t regularly contour, I’m fine with this and the next purchase that I’ll make for contouring may be the Kevin Aucoin Sculpting powder in medium. However, this specific duo palette, was disappointing for two reasons. Firstly, the highlight didn’t create a obnoxious nor a subtle highlight. In fact it didn’t highlight at all. The Urban Decay Naked on the Run Palette highlighter and even the Hourglass Ambient Lighting powder did both extremes for me. This one did nothing but add powder to my face. Secondly, while the blush/contour color is incredibly pigmented, I have to say it was incredibly powder. Powder will fly when you tap your brush into it. It gives quite the color pay off if you want to look like a clown, however that would be my fault since I chose this color. Unfortunately, like its brow product, this will not a repurchase of mine in the future.
  • Bare Minerals powder eye shadow in Luster: I got this on sale at a Bare Minerals boutique. Usually when the shadows go on sale, they’re either discontinuing the color or the line itself, and at the time I purchased it, the color was being discontinued. You still can purchase lose powder shadows via Bare Minerals, but as many of you may notice, many of the palettes and shadows are now pressed. Ulta still sells them and Sephora does as well in sets, but I loose shadows aren’t really as popular as it’s lose foundations, blushes, etc. Now, the color name for this specific shadow is Luster and all I have to say is that it definitely isn’t lusterous one bit. The pigment payoff is lackluster at best. I have other loose shadows that are absolutely beautiful. This specific color is utterly disappointing. Instead of a no repurchase, the temptation to toss is great. That’s how disappointing this product was for me.

Now onto the Eh products:

img_1720

  • Body Shop’s Wonderblur: This isn’t a bad product at all. It minimizes pores as it’s marketed. The reason why it landed in the mediocre pile of products is that, it clumbs up in the tube which leads to when you’re pressing out product from the said tube, it comes out in chunks of lotion. It’s hard to describe with words, but essentially, you get a bit, and you have to press the tube for a bit more product. I’m definitely not half way let alone over half way done with the product. Yet to have that happen is interesting and something I don’t find quite appealing. It’s definitely not as heavy as the Maybelline product which I like about the product. Yet that clumpy chunky part that comes out of the tube from the product is something that’s unappealing for me. That’s why it landed in this section.
  • Shiseido White Lucent Eye Cream: Eye creams are a toughy. I bought this for a pretty penny and to find that it doesn’t quite eliminate dark circles under my eyes was disappointing. Now, with the Ultimune, it does help. Putting this on as instructed (i.e. Twice a day) also helps. I understand that my dark circles isn’t really going anywhere any time. However, I wanted to see a bit more eimprovement than what I see. It’s very moisturizing. Unforunately, like I said above, the search for an eye cream continues.
  • Cover Girl’s Flower in the Bloom Mascara (although honestly some days I think this is a disappointment; not pictured because I don’t know where it went…oh well, didn’t really like it anyways): Clumpy mascara, flakes off….some days it works and other days it doesn’t. In all honesty, I didn’t know love hate relationships for a product existed until I tried this. In the past, I either loved, liked, or hated a product. This surprisingly hit middle ground for me because sometimes, this product gives me that volume effect that I like. Other days, clump galore. I lost this when I went to a conference. No, I didn’t purposefully lose this. I really don’t know what happened after I used this on Amtrak that one time I did my make up on Amtrak…oh well. I’m not missing it.
  • Daiso Cosmetic Sheets in the box (NOT the Diaso face paper sumi ones!!): The Sumi ones are definitely a like for me when it comes to blotting sheets. I kept those at work in case I become a greaseball. However, the Diaso cosmetic sheets that come in a box (I believe there are like 500 sheets in these), while cheap in price and ones that do absorb oils well, it’s not the same as the Sumi face papers. Those definitely absorb without making the paper look transparent. These sheets, you use it a few times and you get to see threw them slightly. I find that the absorbancy of these is worse than toilet seat covers, and if this does better than that, why bother right? Don’t get me wrong. They absorb and I will use these till I finish. They just won’t be a repurchase of mine.
  • Rimmel’s Exaggerate Lip Liners: Colors are great, application and formula is not my favorite. I prefer perhaps the Revlon matte balm, Bite Beauty’s lip pencils, and after trying out the Nudestix pencils (try, don’t have), I find these are better and have more colors that I like more than these. In addition, the formula and application of other liners are better than this one.

2016 loves — There are quite a few. Considering this is my first blog post ever one something like this, I hope I do this well!

img_1719

  • Real Techniques brushes and Miracle Complexion Sponge: After testing out ELF (favorite brushes as well) and a cheaper brand that my sister gifted me for my birthday 2 years back, I have to say, Real Techniques has been a brush purchase of mine this year. While there is much hype about these products, can I give a shout out to the Miracle Complexion Sponge which literally saved the Benefit Erase Paste from ending up in the trash? Honestly these brushes are amazing. My sister raved about them when she got them, and when I purchased some of these myself this year, including the sponge, I absolutely love these brushes. Definitely a repurchase if they wear down.
  • Shiseido Synchro Skin Foundation: You guys…I first heard about this foundation on YouTube. If you’ve been following, you’ll know that before purchasing this, I have been a frequent powder, tinted moisturizer/bb cream, and cream base kind of girl. I didn’t have liquid foundation because all the other ones I tried years ago felt to heavy and way too full coverage for my liking. In fact, before purchasing this, I was going to purchase another product (which I still like, when I sampled it; not sure if I’m going to pull out the big bucks for it yet but I have to say, that is also a great foundation especially for the summer months). This foundation lasted on my skin even in the summer months. While I had one mishapful moment where I did create a medium coverage look which was way too much for me for an everyday look, this foundation lasted in such a way that it does “sync” up with your skin without providing an oily look. On super hot days, I probably would not wear this, but on hot days, it’s lasted. So I have to say props to my first liquid foundation purchase. Shiseido this is one of your most awesome foundations…and I own quite a few Shiseido bases.
  • Shiseido Ultimune Power Infusing Concentrate (tried sample size, purchased a full size): My sister raved about this, and when I had a chance I chose to get a sample to try out with my night routine. You guys…if I can do a thumbs up emolji on my tablet, I would, because this is one of the most underrated but best product on the market. If I’m not mistaken, I believe this product did earn Allure’s 2016 award in the beauty category, and I must say, no one talks about this except Asians, but I want to just say, this product is awesome at helping you absorb things into your skin. It works as an essence, and you apply this first (light hand, don’t go ham) and then apply your serum and moisturizer. I don’t use this daily (every few days or so), but this does wonders to your skin. Absolutely love the the point that I pulled out the big bucks and purchased the fullest size possible of this. That’s how good it is. That’s how much I recommend it. If you’re unsure about this, definitely try a sample size (Macy’s sometimes gives sample sizes of this) or if you can go to Sephora to get a sample to try. Absolutely would recommend and when I finish, absolutely a worthy repurchase.
  • Urban Decay’s All Nighter Setting Spray: For those of you who follow this blog, you know that this has been my go to setting spray. I do want to try the De-Slick spray, but it’s so good that for me, I haven’t even had the temptation to look at other sprays. Ok…maybe the Shiseido one, but that’s for a different purpose….for setting, this does the trick hands down every time. If I forget to powder, this is all I need even on hot days when I’m roasting at a health fair. If that doesn’t seal the deal for a grease ball face like me, I don’t know what would.
  • Make Up Forever’s Water Blend Foundation: When Shiseido decided to discontinue its BB Cream, I began my search for another base to replace it with a different product (Although, I recently saw via Shiseido on Instagram that they’re coming out with a BB Cusion as a sun screen, can’t wait to try it out). You guys….some people hate that the Make Up Forever doesn’t provide full coverage, but a little bit of this gives you that even base you need for an every day look. I was given quite a descent sample of this when I asked about this, and while it’s perfect for fall/winter months, after trying this out while traveling and over the course of a few days at the time, man….this has replaced an old favorite, which is my Laura Mercier oil free tinted moisturizer. In 2015, that was an absolute love of mine besides my Shiseido BB Cream in Medium. However, this foundation right here provides that perfect every day coverage that I need. A little of this goes a long way. It’s certainly buildable, and I’ve even used this in the winter without powder/setting spray. Brush application is definitely preferred over a sponge for this. Absolute love as a sample, it was a purchase during the Sephora event they had.
  • Milani’s Baked Blush in Luminoso: This was raved on You Tube, and it is truly worth all the hipe. I love this. In fact, I’m loving it so much, it’s not only a repurchase, but I’m thinking about getting another blush color or the limited edition blushes that look like a rose (specifically Tea Rose). This looks beautiful on my skin with and without foundation. Absolutely love, I use this more than my Bare Mineral’s loose powder blush in Peach Coral, which I’ve had slightly longer. For those who don’t know, I don’t buy blushes often because my cheeks get rosy naturally. While I have some blushes, it’s not a product I buy often because I don’t normally need it.

So there you have it guys! My 2016 loves, ehs, and disappointments. Sorry for the super long post. You won’t be seeing another post until after the new year. I hope you all have a happy new year! Stay safe! Reflect on 2016, and look forward to 2017.

Happy New Year guys!

 

Leave a Reply

